They Call Me “Hot Jan”

Story time with my attentive great nieces, A'Marie and Channing.

Story time with my attentive great nieces, A’Marie and Channing.


My Green-Eyed Perspective by Jan Sperry Astani

Two of my mornings this week were extra special. I got to spend them with four little people, two great nieces and two great nephews, who were visiting their Nana’s house (my big sister Carol) over spring break. Shortly upon their arrival, Carol texted me because the kids wanted to know when “Hot Jan” was coming over.

Who, you ask, is Hot Jan? Why, me, of course.

I’m not exactly sure how my brilliant nickname was born. Perhaps a year ago or so, when brown-haired and brown-eyed A’Marie was four, she started calling me “Hot Jan.” Perhaps she was really saying “Hut Jen” in her sweet, little raspy voice instead of “Aunt Jan.” But from then on, “Hot Jan” I was. The name spread to her little brother and three cousins, so now, that’s what they all call me. And I answer proudly.

We spent yesterday morning reading books and having a grand time. Even in today’s technological age of iPhones, iPads, iCameras, iApps and everything else “i,” there’s nothing like sitting down to share a story with four sets of eager little ears named A’Marie, Channing, Keller and Warner. I had the special honor of sitting between the young ladies. We read “Nicketty-Nacketty Noo-Noo-Noo” and learned about a young girl who got away from an ogre by making him stew with glue. (I hope the kids remember that the girl in the story and I both share green eyes.) We learned about Alexander and his terrible, horrible, not good, very bad day. And we learned that when five little monkeys jump on their mama’s bed, they all fall off and bump their heads.

As I kissed them all goodbye so they could be on their way to an exciting afternoon adventure, I was sure that my day couldn’t get any better. But then, in my mailbox, was a card addressed to none other than “Hot Jan.” A’Marie had colored a beautiful get-well card for me and mailed it from her home in Texas. It was the icing on my great aunt “Hot Jan” cake, and I proudly displayed it as the cover photo on my Facebook page.

May we all, at some point in our busy lives, receive a special nickname. It can come from a significant other, a loved one, a co-worker or a friend. And what’s more, it’s perfectly OK if your nickname comes from you. Pick whatever you want to affirm yourself each and every day. I promise, it’s good for the soul, and it’s guaranteed to make you smile.

Just don’t pick “Hot Jan.” That one is already taken.

About Jan S. Astani

So what would you like to know about Jan S. Astani? I’m a 50-something gal who left the corporate world of marketing, sales and real estate to dance into the entrepreneurial world of motivational speaking, training and writing. I’ve learned that “change” is not a four-letter word, and that you must face your fears in order to grow and learn. I’ve also learned that when God and your heart are trying to tell you something, you’d better listen and do something about it. I love God, my husband, my sons, my awesome family and my countless friends, and I try to live by my Mom’s wonderful words of wisdom: “Always do your best and try your hardest.” My mantra is “Be fun, feisty and fabulous.” Reading, traveling and doing Zumba make me happy. A little ice cream never hurts either. Thank you for getting to know me through my blog. Enjoy. Please visit http://janastani.com or email me at jansastani@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment